The Wisdom Of Growing Older

September 5, 2008 at 4:59 pm (Motivation-Inspiration) (, , , )

 

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could live like this every day?  I know some people who already do live like this.  How about you?  Are you living your dream?  Are you taking time to smell the roses yet?

Life can change in an instant so whether or not you are considered old or young, perhaps if you realize that every day is a gift, and tomorrow holds not guarantees, you will take time for you.

Here is the email I received with the words of wisdom.

 

Old Age, I decided, is a  gift.

I am now, probably for the first time in my  life, the person I have always wanted to be.   I would never trade my amazing friends, my wonderful life, my loving family for less gray hair or a flatter belly.  As I’ve aged, I’ve become more kind to myself, and less critical of myself. I’ve become my own friend.

I don’t chide myself for eating that extra cookie, or for not making my bed, or for buying   that silly cement gecko that I didn’t need, but looks so avant garde on my patio.  I am entitled to a treat, to be messy, to be  extravagant. 

Whose business is it if I choose to read or play on the computer until 4 AM and sleep until  noon?

I will dance with   myself to those wonderful tunes of the 50&60’s, and if I, wish I will walk the beach in a swim suit that is stretched over a bulging body, and will dive into the waves with abandon if I choose to, despite the pitying glances from the jet set.  They, too, will get old.

I know I am sometimes forgetful.  But there again, some of life is just as  well forgotten. And I eventually remember the important things.

Sure, over the years my heart has been   broken.
But broken hearts are what give us strength and understanding and compassion.  A heart never broken is pristine and 
sterile and will never know the joy of being imperfect.

I am so blessed to have lived long enough to have my hair turning gray, and to  have my youthful laughs be forever etched into deep grooves on my face.  So many have never laughed, and so many have died before their hair could turn silver.  

As you get   older, it is easier to be positive. You care less about what other   people think. I don’t question myself anymore. I’ve even earned the right to be wrong.  

So, to answer your question, I  like being old. It has set me free.    I like the person I have become.  

I am not going to live forever,  but while I am still here, I will not waste time lamenting about what could have been, or worrying about what will be. And I shall eat dessert every single day. (If I feel like it)

MAY OUR   FRIENDSHIP NEVER COME APART ESPECIALLY WHEN IT’S STRAIGHT FROM THE  HEART!

MAY YOU ALWAYS HAVE A RAINBOW OF SMILES ON YOUR FACE AND IN YOUR HEART FOREVER AND EVER!

2 Comments

  1. Dan said,

    I’ll have to agree with you, your entire life can change in the blink of an eye. (as mine has in the last month) There are no guarantees you’ll be here tomorrow.

    In my life, I went for 10 or 15 years with a nagging knee injury. I finally had knee scope surgery to fix the problem. I never realized how much my knee injury had held me back from doing just little things until it was repaired. I felt like I had cheated myself. I’ve been working ever since to get my sit-at-a-desk-all-day self into better shape. It’s a kind of selfish thing. It’s just because it makes me feel so good to feel strong and to feel my body feel better week by week.

    Ever since I can remember I have always loved riding my bike. Something about riding is almost like flying to me. Using paper route money, I bought lighter and better 10 speeds. When I worked for a grocery store in high school I saved up and bought a Peugeot PX-10, which was a pro-racing class bike they were using in the Tour de France at the time. I rode that bike everywhere, across Iowa on SAGBRAI (2nd year of what is now known as RAGBRAI), to work and to school during college. I never bought a car until I was 23, I honestly never saw the need.

    When my children were young we used to ride our bikes and play follow the leader in the huge sloping expanse of our neighborhood hospital, letting gravity pull you down the hill, then swooping around in ever tightening circles, zig-zagging through the sparsely parked cars on that less-used part of the lot. Seems almost like soaring to me. Of course any visit to the hospital parking lot would end up playing follow the leader around the painted circle of the helicopter landing pad until someone could do no more (usually me).

    Right now I cannot ride (can’t even drive per doctors orders). But you can count on me being back on the bike, riding stronger, faster and further as soon as I can. That is one of the simple pleasures I treat myself to as I grow older. I make the time to ride, even when there are other “more reponsible” things I tell myself I should be doing.

    As an afer-thought: If you do ride, please wear a helmet. It might make you feel like you look like a dork, but a dorky-looking bicycle helmet is the only reason I’m able to write this note today.

  2. Rocque said,

    Thanks for commenting Dan. My life changed in an auto accident where I messed up the ligaments in my right foot and ankle pretty bad. Although I went to the doctor I do not feel I got the proper medical care.
    I did not get any therapy for my foot or ankle.
    My car was totaled and I could not drive for 7 months because I had no strength in my foot.
    I had another accident last year but this was just due to slipping on some dirt in our parking lot at work, and falling over the curb. I reinjured that same ankle. I did get Worker’s Comp physical therapy this time, and I feel my ankle might get stronger.

    However am I in the same shape I was 3 years ago, or able to do the same things? Nope!

    I still enjoy every day and have a whole lot to be grateful for and I appreciate the fact that I can walk without a cane or crutches or a big foam cast on my leg.

    Thanks again for your comment.

    I have that link in here about the children with cancer. When we see that, and know kids are fighting disease that they did nothing to get, then it makes us appreciate what we have even more.

Leave a Reply

